Colico
At the foot of Mount Legnone, in a charming area rich in naturalistic beauties lies Colico.
The lovely village - very close to Dongo and Musso, but under the municipality of Lecco - has Roman origins. During the Middle Ages, marked by cruel battles between Guelphs and Ghibellines, Colico got fortified and passed under the rules of several feudatories: Visconti, Sanseverino, Sforza, Caldarini, Pusterla and Alberti.
At the end of the seventeenth-century Colico was an uninhabited marsh, that reacquired importance thanks to the opening of the passes of Stelvio, Maloia and Spluga. In 1858, in occasion of the ordinary maintenance of River Adda, the area was totally reclaimed.
Being at the crossroads of significant commercial Lombard streets, Colico has been contended among the local seigniories for a long time.
St Giorgio Martire, celebrated on April 23th, is Colico's patron saint.
Enjoy the comfort of a vacation home in Lake Como.